Eating Out Vegan

Becoming vegan has been surprisingly easy and fun.  I’ve enjoyed the new food experimentation and I’ve absolutely felt the benefits.

One area that’s been more of a challenge than I anticipated is eating out.  I never realized how limited the options can be and how surprised and put out people can seem when you ask questions or make special requests (i.e. “no butter,” “what are the ingredients in the sauce?”).  I feel guilty to say anything.  Claiming to be a vegan can be as offensive or alarming to some people as claiming to be a feminist. *gasp!*  Funny how natural it is in our culture to eat meat, and how deviant or radical it is to be a person who doesn’t eat meat.  People pin all sorts of labels on vegans–like we’re part of a strange, subversive fringe group.

I really like to think that being vegan is just a choice about how I want to live my life.  Only a vegan for about 10 months, I can’t imagine eating some of the things I used to eat.  Why is that so hard for people to understand?  I’m not trying to be difficult.  I hope so much that people simply respect my choice.  Cut the disdain, please.

I’m so grateful to places that offer vegan options.  There aren’t many here in central PA, but the ones that are here are fabulous.

So for now, I’m glad I like to cook and have hopes that with time, being a vegan in public will get easier.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Olympia Foods in Dayton Ohio is a Welcoming Community!

    Reply

  2. Posted by jill on February 25, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    If you ever visit Boston, you would love where I live in Jamaica Plain!!!!! Great accommodating restaurants!!!

    Reply

  3. There are definitely communities out there with a broader sensitivity about the ways people eat. Thanks, Sara and Jill for your comments!

    Reply

  4. Posted by conradvisionquest on February 26, 2010 at 10:29 am

    yessss! great post.

    Reply

  5. Posted by colette on February 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    So true! Why do some people take offense to the eating habits of others?
    Like they used to say in the 70s; ‘Different strokes for different folks!”

    Reply

  6. Posted by Corie on March 1, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    When I first moved to PA 14 years ago I was a vegetarian and had a hard time finding anything to eat at restaurants, and now it is SO much easier. Hopefully with time the options for vegans will grow too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

