Simple: A Big Bowl of Pasta on a Cold Winter Night

Sometimes there’s nothing better than the simplest of things.  I was so busy today and the weather has been so cold that nothing sounded better to me than a big bowl of pasta.

With a little Joni Mitchell playing and two pots on the stove, I sipped beer and cooked.

In one pot I boiled water for whole wheat penne pasta.  In the other, I sauteed garlic with basil, oregano, thyme and a tiny bit of fennel and red pepper flakes.  With the pasta cooking, I threw a quart of grape tomatoes in with the garlic and herbs and listened to them sizzle and pop until they were cooked soft enough to press them with the back of my big wooden spoon.  Topped with some kosher salt and fresh pepper, they were ready toss together with my pasta and a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach.  I had some bread left from the day before that helped to soak up all the saucy, juicy goodness.

Totally simple.  Totally good.  Reminds me of how lucky I am.  Makes me appreciate simple things.

Leave a Reply

