A Fitness Frame of Mind

The time issue seems to be the major reason that so many who struggle with weight seem to have about not getting in shape.

I completely get it.

Working, taking care of kids, and managing a household can all make working out seem expendable.  It’s incredibly logical to think that fitness can happen if it fits.  The problem is that there will always be something that can push working out to the bottom of the to do list and, in turn, completely out of your day.

Depending on how serious you are about getting in shape, though, exercise’s position on the list is ultimately a choice. Being serious means that there are no excuses.

The question, then, is:  Do you really want to do this?  Or don’t you?

If you want it, there are some steps that might help get the ball rolling and keep it rolling.

1. Make a workout schedule.

~Consider the most basic time responsibilities that you have:  work, getting kids off to school, dinner.  Then, find 45 minutes.

I know people who only have time at 5:30 in the morning.  My workout schedule varies, but early weekday mornings are out for me.  I’m up at 5:30 just to get kids out the door and myself to work by 8am.  I fit my work out in somedays at 2pm, other days at 7pm.  On weekends, I do it first thing in the morning.

2.  Be committed.

~You have to make a decision.  Working out must become as much of what you do as eating and showering.  I hate the cliche, but it is a “lifestyle choice.”  I have become a different person with reconfigured priorities.  It isn’t that I think, “I need to do this to stay healthy.”  It’s that I think, “This is just what I do.”

3.  Decide on a routine.

~Do you enjoy a gym?  Ask a fitness instructor to help you put a daily plan together.  Do you like to work out on your own at home?  Put together a plan that includes both cardio and strength training. I hate gyms, so at home I start with a 2-3 mile run, then use a combination of weights and “Acacia Core Fusion” videos (the “Body Sculpt” video is a great one to get you started).  The whole thing takes me about an hour.  I do this at least 5 days a week.

4.  Find a friend to keep you honest.

~When I first settled into my neighborhood, I had a daily 5:30am date with my new friend and neighbor, Sharon, every morning for a brisk 30 minute walk.  There’s nothing like feeling as though you “can’t let your friend down” to get your butt out of bed and out the door.  Additionally, a friend might help you raise the bar.  When I run with a friend, I run longer than I would if I were alone.

5. Get addicted

~It doesn’t take long to get addicted.  It doesn’t take much before you start to feel lousy about not working out.  Both physically and emotionally, you’ll find that you just need to do it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. 3. HATE gyms. The cost, the driving, having to wear shoes. Sometimes I sleep in my workout clothes, get up, and workout. I am doing ChaLEAN Extreme (by the makers of P90X). Love it. No more gyms for me.

    5. I am addicted. Totally.

    I was always active, but started a new regime one month ago and can’t believe the progress – not just with my physical health, but also my emotional and mental health.

    You are an inspiration.

    Oh, and I’m going on a farm tour this weekend for a new co-op!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Grass fed EVERYTHING.

    Reply

  2. Go Joline!!!! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

